The Dolomites

This impressive mountain range is part of the Southern Limestone Alps and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Popular areas in the Dolomites are the Three Peaks, the Catinaccio and Val Gardena.
The magnificent Dolomites, a UNESCO natural wonder, tell a 250-million-year-old story. Once a primeval ocean, tectonic forces lifted up these rocks and created a sculpture gallery of nature. Their discoverer, Déodat de Dolomieu, identified the unique mineral composition of the rock in the 18th century, which gives them a radiantly bright appearance and earned them the nickname "Pale Mountains". The spectacular color palette of the Dolomites - from the softest light during the day to the intense red at sunset - is a spectacle that keeps visitors from all over the world spellbound. The evening mood in particular, known as "Enrosadira", enchants with a play of colors ranging from intense red to soft orange to deep violet. This mountainous wonderland combines scientific interest with natural beauty. It captivates with its rugged peaks, pointed needle rocks and high towers, but also with its gentle alpine meadows, tranquil mountain lakes and mysterious canyons. Waterfalls and torrents add further color to this regional masterpiece. The protection of this unique natural heritage is a top priority. The Ampezzan Nature Park and UNESCO are working to ensure that this paradise is preserved for future generations. Mountain guides introduce children and beginners to the flora and fauna as well as the fascinating history of the rocky realm so that they too can fully experience the fascination of the Dolomites.
Google Maps

By loading the map, you agree to Google's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load map